Armenia announces plans for 2017 Eurovision song contest

By Asbarez | Monday, 22 August 2016

Judges of

Judges of “Depi Evratesil” who will choose the Armenian representative of the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest (Photo: Public Television of Armenia)

YEREVAN (Eurovision)— Earlier this summer, Armenia’s public broadcaster AMPTV announced its plans for the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest. The Armenian representative will be chosen in a series of shows called Depi Evratesil. Now AMPTV has officially announced the names of the jury members for the ground breaking national selection format.

The announced “Dream team” is made up of Armenia’s former representatives of the Eurovision Song Contest who will search for their successors. They will audition hundreds of new artists and guide them on their way to Europe’s biggest stage.

The auditions, to choose candidates for the live shows, will take place in September. From October to December, viewers will be able to watch Depi Evratesil live on the First Channel of AMPTV.

The competition will last three months. Contestants are Armenian or of Armenian heritage and are 16 years or older.

Armenia first participated in the Eurovision Song Contest in 2006, placing fourth, 2008 and 2014. In 2016, year Iveta Mukuchyan finished seventh in the finals rounds with LoveWave.